Posted in Life

Baby Bump & Baby Daddy

So I am late (but then I am always late for almost everything even adulting lol), and the rain is nowhere near being done caressing my peanut butter skin .It’s January, for goodness sake that is beginning to feel like Monday stuck on reply .I step out of wet ridiculous looking rain boots that are embarrassingly fugly they make me cringe half the time and trudge into Helen’s where my friend, brown eyes (not real name) is waiting for me –impatiently it seems.

She has this ridiculous huge smile on her face (is she glowing?), and she doesn’t even bother with a greeting -after all she wasn’t the poster child for manners and voice control when she spots me. “Sillyface! I am pregnant!” she screeches so loud, grabbing me in a hug so tight I can’t even choke out a congratulations or ask whether it was planned or a resultant effect of ‘yekedero’

I smile just the same because a part of me knew it was coming –what do you think happens when two very attractive people date .I kid you! The thought came to me after reading the Sunday Mail Horoscope that I had browsed through that read “YOU WILL BE SURPRISED THIS WEEK”.

“I’m so happy for you!” I say when she loosens the grip of death .I order red velvet cake while she talks two hundred miles a minute about how she found out.

My mind at that moment drifted to my own poor pathetic broken cord I called my love life and the absence of a yummy tall dark glass of something .I was happy for my friend –she deserved it . Contraceptive fairy godmother don’t cuss your child I pleaded lol –she has always been the adventurous kind and it’s no wonder she gave it ‘yekedero’ to a guy that made many cringe at sight –gosh that guy wasn’t scoring any points in the looks department and he would have a shot in the ‘Blesser department’ if he was at least rich but then again he was just old and average.

I could almost feel all those evil thoughts making my body shiver with the coldness they represented .At that moment ,I murmured a short prayer of forgiveness and stared at my  glowing and vividly scared and excited friend who was talking about who-knows-what about pregnancy.

I listened attentively as she  went on and on about being pregnant and I just smiled at myself .Please don’t judge me that I am skeptical about this pregnancy and baby daddy’s .Will I get married or have a baby daddy –I don’t know . What I do know is that when a youth leader, church coordinator and unemployed young something falls pregnant out of wedlock, scandal is the norm of the day .Everybody from church busy bodies to fake friends have an opinion about this.

Until my next scribble …

Leave a Reply

